Location: St. Mary’s College Maryland
Area: 7,900 GSF
Client: Maryland Department of General Services
Tenant: Historic St. Mary’s City Commission
LEED: Designed to LEED Silver
This unusual visitor center was built to both protect and interpret the existing remains of the plantation house built here in 1638. Part of a complex of buildings, the site was used to hold the first meetings of the newly formed Maryland legislature. Built to match an English manor house of the day, it’s unusual stone foundations have lasted through the years. The respectfully designed museum provides a historical vision of the original house and outbuildings in form and materials, as well as a large modern exhibit room in a high performance thermal envelope. A key component of the overall design was to embed the building into the rich cultural landscape at the water’s edge. Using a geothermal HVAC system on an innovative ducted concrete floor, the building was built with exposed structure but no exposed ductwork. Daylight floods the spaces and the materials were kept to a minimum to respect the site origins. Exterior campus electrical lines were buried and a new campus storm water pond set the stage for the reclaimed historic landscape by Michael Vergason Landscape Architects.
Kelly Vresilovic completed this project while a Senior Associate at Bohlin Cywinski Jackson.